Book blog

Buzzy Books Reads A Lot

My reading week

so this year the reading rush has been cancelled and, as for one I really like doing it each year and second I already booked the week off I decided to do my own one.  If you didn’t know, the reading rush is a week long event where you try to read as many books as you can and you are given prompt to help you pick the books.
My other half has come up with the 7 prompts for me to pick books from, you don’t need to pick one book for each prompt if you pick a book which works for multiple prompts then that’s great.

Here are the  prompts

1. A book where the first letter of the surname of the author and the first word of the title are the same

And

2. A book with a cover the colour of one of the primary colours (red, blue or yellow)

I have had this book on my shelf un read since 2014, I got it as I really liked her other book a witch in winter. It’s also the only book I could find on my shelf that would work for this prompt other then the seven deaths of Evelyn hardcastle by Stuart Turton but apparently the doesn’t Count. As it’s a blue cover I’m also using this book book for the second challenge as well, just so I have a chance to read all the books on this list.

Witch finder by Ruth Warburton

London, 1880, and eighteen-year-old Luke Lexton is about to endure his initiation into the Malleus Maleficorum – the secretive brotherhood devoted to hunting witches, and the organisation that will help Luke take revenge on the witch who murdered his parents. His final test is to pick a name at random from the Book of Witches, a name he must track down and kill within a month, or face death himself. Luke picks out sixteen-year-old Rosa Greenwood, a witch-girl living in rapidly fading grandeur on the west side of town. She’s the last bargaining chip in her family’s struggle to avoid bankruptcy and is about to be married off to the handsome, cruel, grotesquely rich Sebastian Knyvet – a powerful member of the Ealdwitan. As Rosa and Luke get to know each other, Luke realises it will be impossible for him to kill Rosa, just as Rosa knows she will bring disgrace on her family if she does not marry Knyvet. But Knyvet is hiding dark secrets – including the key which will unlock the mystery of Luke’s murdered parents. Torn between appeasing their elders and their growing affection for each other, Rosa and Luke must each make their choice between life and death.

3. A book with an animal on the cover

I have been wanting to read this book for quite sometime as I enjoyed the original animated tv show when I was younger and as there is a new Netflix show/film on the way it seems has good a time as any to read this story.

Redwall Brian Jacques

Welcome to Redwall Abbey. Inside its enormous doors, mice live in peace, helping those in need and throwing epic feasts for the great and the good of Mossflower Woods. But outside a grave threat is gathering. An army of evil rats led by a vicious, one-eyed warlord, is on its way. Matthias is just one little mouse but he knows it’ll take more than stones and mouse-sized arrows to keep the rats at bay. Enlisting the help of a military hare, wild sparrows and argumentative stoats, Matthias sets out to defend his freedom, his friends, and the abbey he calls home.

4. A book where you feel the cover looks pretty under the sleeve.

I am breaking my rule with this one and using a reread, I’m doing this for many reasons. one; most of my books are plain under the dust jacket and this one has a lovely design, and second I have wanted to reread Carrie’s book since I finished it and as she doesn’t have a new book coming out this year it seems as good a time as any.

On the other side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Your soul is too heavy to pass through this door, Leave the weight of the world in the world from before. Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open. Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved … Powerful, magical and utterly romantic, On the Other Side will transport you to a world that is impossible to forget. A love story like no other, it will have you weeping from the sheer joy and beauty of it all.

5. A book involving Super Powers.

I have been interested in reading this book for sometime as I have enjoyed reading v.e Schwabs books and I fortunately found both books in a secondhand  book shop.

Vicious by V.E Schwab

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates-brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in one another. A shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death-experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. They become EOs, ExtraOrdinaries, leaving a body in their wake and turning on each other. Ten years later Victor has escaped from prison and is determined to get his revenge on the man who put him there, aided by a young girl with the ability to raise the dead. Eli has spent the years hunting down and killing every EO he can find, convinced that they are a crime against God, all except his sidekick, a woman whose power is persuasion and whom he cannot defy. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the arch-nemeses have set a course for revenge-but who will be left alive at the end?

6. A book that includes a location in the title

What I often like to try to do with this challenge is read books that have been sat on my shelf but I also like to read books that I have just brought so they don’t end up on my shelf for years.

Tokyo ever after by Emiko Jean

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club YA Pick! A hilarious and heartfelt novel perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and The Princess Diaries Izumi Tanaka has lived an uneventful seventeen years in her small town, keenly aware of all the ways in which her family is different from most of her classmates’. But then Izumi discovers a clue to her previously unknown father’s identity . . . and he’s none other than the Crown Prince of Japan. Soon she’s traveling overseas to meet the father she never knew and discover the country she’s only dreamed of. But being a princess isn’t all ball gowns and tiaras. There are conniving cousins, a hungry press, a scowling but handsome bodyguard who just might be her soulmate, and thousands of years of tradition and customs to learn practically overnight. Izzy soon finds herself caught between worlds, and between versions of herself-back home, she was never “American” enough, and in Japan, she must prove she’s “Japanese” enough. Will Izumi crumble under the weight of the crown, or will she live out her fairytale, happily ever after?

7. A book that is part of a series

Vicious and Redwall are all part of series

I’m going to post how I’m doing each day over on my Instagram with a little doddle inspired by one of the books because I found that quite fun last year. So if you want to see that you can go to my Instagram @beekatexx.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner